menu

Marie-Jeanne Dupaul,
A trailblazing secretary
and treasurer

Bombardier Snowmobile Limited was incorporated on July 10, 1942, in Valcourt. The company manufactured vehicles that could travel on snow—also known as snowmobiles—and was led by inventor Joseph-Armand Bombardier. The first photograph of the company’s management team looks like a family portrait.  Joseph-Armand Bombardier’s brothers, Alphonse-Raymond, Léopold and Gérard occupied the positions of Vice President and Directors, respectively.

However, one person stands out from the group: a woman by the name of Marie-Jeanne Dupaul, who was secretary and treasurer of the company. Ms. Dupaul came from a family of shopkeepers in Valcourt, and worked for Joseph-Armand Bombardier’s company as secretary and treasurer for more than 20 years. This short biography introduces Marie-Jeanne Dupaul: an extraordinary woman who was the living embodiment of discipline and loyalty.

Conseil d'administration

The Bombardier Snowmobile Limited management, 1942

Marie-Jeanne Dupaul - Early life

Marie-Jeanne Dupaul was born on July 12, 1902. Her parents Joseph Dupaul and Georgianna Robin had 13 children, 4 of whom passed away before the age of 16. Thus, she grew up with three brothers and five sisters. The Dupaul family was very active in Valcourt’s community life. The father ran a general store, which he later passed down to his son Théophile Dupaul.

Famille Dupaul

Front row (left to right): Marie-Joseph, Marie-Jeanne; middle row: Marie-Anne, Théophile, Georgianna, Eva, Joseph; back row: Léopold, Eugénie, Régina and Alexina (circa 1908)

As a child, Marie-Jeanne attended the Sacré-Cœur convent in Valcourt. She was a talented musician, and passed the piano examinations at the Sherbrooke Royal Conservatory in 1918.When she was 17 years old, Marie-Jeanne joined the Daughters of Charity of the Sacred Heart of Jesus. The religious community was well-established in the area and ran the convent in Valcourt. However, Ms. Dupaul’s life as a nun didn’t last long, and she left the convent on December 28, 1923. After leaving the order, Marie-Jeanne chose not to marry, and began working at the family’s general store.

magasin_dupaul_1920

General store owned by Joseph Dupaul, Marie-Jeanne Dupaul’s father (circa 1920)

Marie-Jeanne Dupaul - Life at Joseph-Armand Bombardier’s company

Joseph-Armand Bombardier was well acquainted with the Dupaul family. Naturally, the inventor shopped at the J. Dupual general store—one of the largest stores in town. And Marie-Jeanne’s brother Théophile had been taking his cars to Le Garage Bombardier for repair since the 1920s. Théophile also helped to test some of the inventor’s prototype snowmobiles.

In the early 1940s, Joseph-Armand Bombardier was looking for a secretary to help with administrative duties. At the time, the business had only about 15 employees. The Dupaul family was well known in town for its business acumen. Mr. Bombardier was impressed by Marie-Jeanne’s work at the general store, and offered her a position as secretary. Shortly after joining the company, she lent her new boss $1,000 for the construction of a new plant, which shows just how much she believed in the company and its leader. In those days, $1,000 was the equivalent of about six months’ worth of a secretary’s salary.

Although Marie-Jeanne began her career at L’Auto-Neige Bombardier as a secretary, her duties rapidly became more diverse. On July 10, 1942, Bombardier Snowmobile Limited became incorporated, and Marie-Jeanne Dupaul was appointed secretary and treasurer of the board of directors. She was the only woman on the board, and was surrounded by Joseph-Armand Bombardier’s brothers and the inventor himself. As a member of the board, she received company shares.

MJ Dupaul

Marie-Jeanne Dupaul, secretary and treasurer, and Gilberte Dupont, secretary (circa 1945)

Among her duties at Bombardier Snowmobile Limited, Marie-Jeanne was in charge of the accounting records, employee payroll, billing, accounts payable, and all other tasks related to the company’s financial management. In other words, she was Joseph-Armand Bombardier’s right-hand woman. She looked after hiring and managing office staff, including assigning and supervising work.

Employees at Bombardier Snowmobile Limited described Marie-Jeanne as “strict,” especially when it came to finances. She kept a close eye on company resources so as not to waste a single thing, e.g., pencils had to be used right up to the last millimetre before being replaced. Although she made no exceptions when it came to money, she was generous with her time. She never hesitated to help others. Marie-Jeanne loved chatting with co-workers, but only once her work was done! She was also known for carrying her little dog around with her everywhere.

Marie-Jeanne Dupaul worked alongside Joseph-Armand Bombardier for 20 years while Bombardier Snowmobile Limited underwent continuous expansion. In the early 1960s, Joseph-Armand Bombardier’s fragile state of health put their professional collaboration in peril. In 1963, just a few months before his death, Mr. Bombardier restructured the company with a view to planning his succession. On June 28, 1963, Marie-Jeanne Dupaul and the inventor’s brothers stepped down from the board of directors. Mr. Bombardier passed away on February 18, 1964, and a chapter in the company’s history came to a close.

Employée de bureau Jeanne Dupaul

Marie-Jeanne Dupaul in her office (circa 1945)

Marie-Jeanne Dupaul – Friends and family

In parallel with her work at Bombardier Snowmobile Limited, Marie-Jeanne spent time with Joseph-Armand Bombardier’s family outside of office hours. Mr. Bombardier’s spouse Yvonne L. Bombardier and Marie-Jeanne both belonged to the Catholic women’s organization the Daughters of Isabella. Marie-Jeanne was president of the Valcourt Circle from 1946 to 1948.

In 1950, Marie-Jeanne travelled to Florida with Mr. Bombardier and his wife. Of course, when she wasn’t travelling with the family, she stayed in Valcourt to supervise the company’s operations.

Marie-Jeanne Dupaul was committed to Bombardier Snowmobile Limited throughout her career. She was equally dedicated to her family, helping her younger sister Marie-Joseph with the education of her two adopted children, and living with her sister Marie-Anne for 84 years. Marie-Jeanne and Marie-Anne died within a year of each other. Marie-Jeanne Dupaul was 87 years old when she passed away on December 21, 1989. Her funeral was held in Valcourt at the Saint-Joseph-d’Ely Church, even though she was living in Saint-Étienne-de-Bolton at the time of her death.

 Yvonne et Marie-Jeanne Dupaul

Yvonne L. Bombardier and Marie-Jeanne Dupaul in Florida, 1950

Legacy

Marie-Jeanne Dupaul left her mark on the history of the Bombardier enterprises through more than 20 years of dedication and, of course, her talent for counting! She was a pioneer in the workplace, appointed to Bombardier Snowmobile Limited’s board of directors in 1942, only two years after legislation granted Québec women the right to vote. Despite the enormous barriers women faced in the workplace at the time, she played an important role in the development of one of the largest industrial companies in the history of Québec.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Today 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Today
10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Rates Become
a member
Buy
your tickets
chatsimple

menu

Marie-Jeanne Dupaul,
une secrétaire-trésorière
à l’avant-garde

L’entreprise L’Auto-Neige Bombardier Limitée s’incorpore le 10 juillet 1942 à Valcourt. Dirigée par l’inventeur Joseph-Armand Bombardier, la compagnie fabrique des autoneiges, ces véhicules de transport sur la neige. La première mosaïque photographique de la direction de l’entreprise ressemble à un portrait de famille. Les frères de Joseph-Armand Bombardier, Alphonse-Raymond, Léopold et Gérard, occupent respectivement les postes de vice-président et de directeurs.

Cependant, un portrait se démarque du lot : celui d’une femme, Marie-Jeanne Dupaul, secrétaire-trésorière de L’Auto-Neige Bombardier Limitée. Issue d’une famille de commerçants de Valcourt, Marie-Jeanne Dupaul travaille pendant plus de 20 ans comme secrétaire-trésorière pour l’entreprise de Joseph-Armand Bombardier. À travers cette courte biographie , apprenez-en plus sur cette femme qui détient une rigueur et une loyauté hors pair.

Conseil d'administration

Direction de L’Auto-Neige Bombardier Limitée, 1942

L’enfance de Marie-Jeanne Dupaul

Marie-Jeanne Dupaul naît le 12 juillet 1902. Fille de Joseph Dupaul et Georgianna Robin, elle fait partie d’une famille de 13 enfants, dont 4 décèdent avant l’âge de 16 ans. Elle grandit donc avec ses 3 frères et ses 5 sœurs. La famille Dupaul est très active dans la communauté du village de Valcourt. Le patriarche de la famille détient un magasin général, qu’il lègue plus tard à son fils Théophile Dupaul.

Famille Dupaul

De gauche à droite, 1re rangée: Marie-Joseph, Marie-Jeanne, 2e rangée: Marie-Anne, Théophile, Goergianna, Eva, Joseph, 3e rangée: Léopold, Eugénie, Régina et Alexina, (vers 1908).

Jeune, Marie-Jeanne Dupaul fréquente le couvent du Sacré-Cœur à Valcourt. Dotée d’un talent musical certain, elle réussit même un examen de piano au conservatoire Royal de Sherbrooke en 1918. À 17 ans, Marie-Jeanne Dupaul se joint à la communauté des Filles de la Charité du Sacré-Cœur de Jésus. Cette communauté religieuse est bien implantée dans la région, puisqu’elle tient le couvent de Valcourt. La conversion de Marie-Jeanne Dupaul est cependant de courte durée, puisqu’elle quitte la congrégation le 28 décembre 1923. Suivant sa sortie des sœurs religieuses, Marie-Jeanne Dupaul choisit de ne pas se marier et décide de travailler au magasin général familial.

Magasin Dupaul 1920

Magasin général du père de Marie-Jeanne Dupaul, Joseph Dupaul, (vers 1920).

Marie-Jeanne Dupaul au sein de l’entreprise de Joseph-Armand Bombardier

Joseph-Armand Bombardier connaît bien la famille Dupaul. L’inventeur fait naturellement ses courses au magasin général J. Dupaul, qui est l’un des magasins les plus imposants du village. De plus, le frère de Marie-Jeanne Dupaul, Théophile, fait réparer ses automobiles au Garage Bombardier depuis les années 1920. Théophile participe d’ailleurs à l’essai de certains prototypes d’autoneiges de l’inventeur

Au tournant des années 1940, Joseph-Armand Bombardier recherche une secrétaire pour l’aider avec les tâches administratives, alors que son entreprise compte une quinzaine d’employés. Parmi les gens du village, la famille Dupaul se démarque par leur sens des affaires. Impressionné par le travail que Marie-Jeanne Dupaul effectue au magasin général, M. Bombardier lui offre le poste de secrétaire. Peu de temps après son entrée en fonction, elle prête 1 000 $ à son nouveau patron pour la construction d’une nouvelle usine tellement elle croit en l’entreprise et à son dirigeant. À l’époque, cette somme représente environ la moitié du salaire annuel d’une secrétaire.

Bien que de Marie-Jeanne Dupaul débute comme secrétaire à L’Auto-Neige Bombardier, ses tâches se diversifient rapidement. Alors que l’entreprise L’Auto-Neige Bombardier Limitée s’incorpore le 10 juillet 1942, Marie-Jeanne Dupaul se retrouve sur le conseil d’administration à titre de secrétaire-trésorière. Elle est la seule femme du conseil d’administration, entourée des frères de Joseph-Armand Bombardier et de l’inventeur lui-même. En tant que membre du conseil d’administration, elle reçoit des parts de l’entreprise.

MJ Dupaul

Marie-Jeanne Dupaul, secrétaire-trésorière, et Gilberte Dupont, secrétaire, (vers 1945).

Dans ses fonctions à L’Auto-Neige Bombardier Limitée, Marie-Jeanne Dupaul veille à la tenue des registres comptables, la paie des employées, la facturation, les comptes à payer ou toute autre tâche en lien avec la gestion financière de l’entreprise. Elle est en quelque sorte le bras droit de Joseph-Armand Bombardier. Elle assume la gestion des embauches du personnel de bureau, ainsi que la distribution et la direction du travail.

Certains employés de L’Auto-Neige Bombardier Limitée de l’époque qualifient Marie-Jeanne Dupaul de rigide, surtout en ce qui a trait aux finances. Elle garde un œil sur le gaspillage des ressources de la compagnie. Par exemple, les crayons doivent être usés jusqu’au dernier millimètre avant d’être remplacés. Bien qu’elle fasse preuve de fermeté lorsqu’il est question d’argent, elle est généreuse de son temps. Elle n’hésite pas à rendre service. Marie-Jeanne Dupaul aime bien bavarder avec les autres travailleurs, mais seulement lorsque le travail est terminé! Les employés de L’Auto-Neige Bombardier Limitée la reconnaissent également par son petit chien, qu’elle traîne souvent dans ses bras.

Durant 20 ans, Marie-Jeanne Dupaul accompagne Joseph-Armand Bombardier dans l’expansion de L’Auto-Neige Bombardier Limitée. Cependant, la santé fragile de Joseph-Armand Bombardier au début des années 1960 vient mettre en péril leur collaboration. Dans une volonté de planifier sa succession, M. Bombardier restructure l’entreprise en 1963, quelques mois avant son décès. Marie-Jeanne Dupaul quitte alors le conseil d’administration de L’Auto-Neige Bombardier Limitée le 28 juin 1963, tout comme les frères de l’inventeur. Ce dernier décède le 18 février 1964 et une page se tourne dans l’histoire de l’entreprise.

Employée de bureau Jeanne Dupaul

Marie-Jeanne Dupaul dans son bureau, (vers 1945).

L’implication de Marie-Jeanne Dupaul dans son entourage

Parallèlement à son embauche à L’Auto-Neige Bombardier Limitée, Marie-Jeanne Dupaul côtoie la famille de Joseph-Armand Bombardier en dehors des heures de bureau. L’épouse de Joseph-Armand Bombardier, Yvonne L. Bombardier, et Mlle Dupaul font partie des Filles d’Isabelle, une organisation de femmes catholiques. Marie-Jeanne est la présidente du cercle de Valcourt de 1946 à 1948.

Marie-Jeanne Dupaul accompagne M. Bombardier et son épouse lors de leur voyage en Floride en 1950. Bien sûr, lorsqu’elle n’accompagne pas la famille en voyage, elle reste à l’usine afin de veiller au bon fonctionnement de l’entreprise.

L’engagement que Marie-Jeanne Dupaul démontre durant sa carrière à L’Auto-Neige Bombardier Limitée se manifeste tout autant avec sa famille. Marie-Jeanne soutient sa sœur cadette, Marie-Joseph, dans l’éducation de ses deux enfants adoptifs. De plus, elle habite avec sa sœur Marie-Anne durant 84 ans. Marie-Jeanne et Marie-Anne décèdent à un an d’intervalle. Marie-Jeanne Dupaul s’éteint à l’âge de 87 ans le 21 décembre 1989. Les funérailles ont lieu à Valcourt à l’église Saint-Joseph-d’Ely, alors qu’elle habite à Saint-Étienne-de-Bolton au moment de son décès.

Yvonne et Marie-Jeanne Dupaul

Yvonne L. Bombardier et Marie-Jeanne Dupaul en Floride, 1950.

Héritage

Marie-Jeanne Dupaul laisse sa marque sur l’histoire des entreprises Bombardier grâce au dévouement dont elle fait preuve durant plus de 20 ans et bien sûr, grâce à ses talents pour compter! Décidément une femme avant-gardiste, sa nomination au sein du conseil d’administration de L’Auto-Neige Bombardier Limitée en 1942 advient seulement 2 ans après la légalisation du droit de vote au Québec pour les femmes. Malgré la place encore restreinte des femmes sur le marché du travail à cette époque, elle joue un rôle important dans le développement de l’une des plus grandes entreprises industrielles dans l’histoire du Québec.

Abonnez-vous à notre infolettre